In a nutshell

Established in 2003, the famous bloghorloger.ch, the first online watch media in Switzerland, is becoming in 2021 Swiss Watch Passport (by JSH). It advocates independence, journalistic ethics and the power of opinion. Free and committed, it is by turns factual and precise, while also knowing how to be subjective and spicy.

This ‘passport’ is a sesame to the country of Swiss Made, the miraculous terroir of world watchmaking. One enters through the border of micro-mechanics, design, status markers, investment, the history of migrations and religions, geographical, climatic, industrial, sports and adventurers as well as celebrities, elite athletes and cultural reasons… A ground where human stories, sometimes cluttered by some egos, remain fascinating, full of wanderings as well as resilience.

Joël A. Grandjean

Publisher, Editor-in-Chief & Journalist

Vincent Daveau

Vice Chief Editor, Watchmaker, Historian,

Ollivier Broto

Prowatch NGO Association Vice President

History

Le passeport pour la connaissance horlogère
The Swiss Watch Passport inspires the creation of the Association ProWatCH (Savoirs & Culture Horlogers Suisse)

Since 2000
In the beginning there was an informal group of friends involved in the watchmaking industry. They met regularly, exchanged information, gossiped, revealed things, rumored things, wanted to know more, and often got scoops.

Unfortunately, the group suddenly dissolved and dispersed geographically. They promised themselves to replace the physical meetings by writings exchanged on a common platform. This was the very beginning of blogs, the first posts were released in 2003.

At that time, the search engines (Alta Vista, Yahoo, MSN and then Google from 1998) were just starting. The problem was that they started to bring up news that was naively supposed to be invisible. The fact that the mistress of a well-known watch CEO could suddenly be covered by the media prompted the participants to urgently designate the journalist of the group to smooth out everything and put it back in form. Joël A. Grandjean (see his profile) took on the job and carried on alone with the first Swiss bloghorloger’s project.

Since 2005
bloghorloger.ch became a free, strong media. Just the reference and independent voice of the industry. The one that sometimes teases and sometimes exhorts, always with respect and passion. Followed by all the specialized journalists, it became a powerful force of influence as shown by some unforgettable traceability tests carried out internally.

This media is one of the main goals of “ProWatCH, Savoirs et Culture Horlogers suisses“, a non-profit association which since 2006 supports the international independent press agency, TàG Press +41 (20 media, 10 of whom dedicated to watchmaking). Thanks to the networking of renowned journalists and experts, its founder, the PR journalist Joël A. Grandjean accepted several mandates as editor-in-chief: the magazines Heure Suisse, Heure Schweiz, Année Horlogère Suisse, Watchonista.com.

2013 and 2015
Twice, in 2013 and 2015, on the eve of the opening of a major watch show in Geneva, the site was hacked. As of 2015, it voluntarily remained inactive so as not to compete with TàG Press +41’s clients.

2019
Joël A. Grandjean has formed JSH Archives & Patrimoine, a NGO association dedicated to reviving the Journal Suisse d’Horlogerie founded in 1876. A world first, this printed magazine intended for watchmaking personnel becomes the only media to refuse advertising from watch brands! A policy that was enthusiastically welcomed by the galaxy of suppliers and co-contractors, and which was intended to be a concrete sign of its independence.

2021
In the spirit of JSH, i.e. in accordance with the history of a medium that since 1876 has been intertwined with the history of Swiss watchmaking, the Swiss Watch Passport is also intended to be an initiatory and no-nonsense publication. Ethical and independent, it intends to always carry the voice of the world of subcontractors and independents in French and English while opening up, under the sign of creativity, to “partnerships” with watch brands increasingly eager to conquer collectors and aficionados.

Already in 2006, in the founding statutes of “ProWatCH, Savoirs & Culture Horlogers Suisses“, alongside the bloghorloger.ch, the Swiss Watch Passport already appeared under the SWP initials. The non-profit association therefore continues to support this media which also benefits from the support of the JSH Archives & Heritage association.

Editorial Team

Portrait officiel de Joël A. Grandjean

Joël A. Grandjean

Editeur & Rédacteur en chef

Joël A. Grandjean

Publisher, Editor-in-Chief & Journalist

Vincent Daveau, Journaliste, Horloger, Historien

Vincent Daveau

Co-Rédacteur en Chef

Vincent Daveau

Co-Editor-in-Chief

Ollivier Broto

ProWatCH Co-Founder, Expert

Ollivier Broto

ProWatCH Co-Founder, Expert

Shaniah A. Gibson

Translations Supervisor

Shaniah A. Gibson

Translations Supervisor

Albert-J. de Buttes-LaCôte

Reporter, TàG Press +41

Albert-J. de Buttes-LaCôte

Reporter, TàG Press +41

JSH Magazine (1876)

News Label

JSH Magazine (1876)

News Label

Next Expert

Senior News Editor

On process

Bureau Chief, UK

Bureau

Geneva

(Suisse)
Et-Dumont 5 | CP
CH-1211 GE3
+41 76 328 0379
jsh@swiss-watch-passport.ch

Zurich

(Switzerland)
+41 44 586 7927
boost@swiss-watch-passport.ch

SOUFRIERE St-Lucia

Caribbean West Ind.
WhatsApp
+1 (758) 286-4599

United KINGDOM

+44 (772) 343-1627
USA Hollywood/FL
+1 (954) 889-5522

AD & Partnership

Welcome!

Become a supporting member of the JSH Archives & Heritage Association or the ProWatCH Association
https://PayPal.me/jsh1876

Partnerships & Boostings
5, rue Etienne Dumont
P.O. Box 3238
CH-1211 Geneva 3, Switzerland

boost@swiss-watch-passport.ch

+41 44 586 7927

Menu

En bref

Fondé en 2003, le fameux bloghorloger.ch, premier média horloger online, devient en 2021 Swiss Watch Passport (by JSH). Il prône l’indépendance, l’éthique journalistique et le courage des opinions. Libre et engagé, il est tour à tour factuel, précis tout en sachant aussi se montrer subjectif, piquant.

Ce ‘passeport’ est un sésame pour le pays du Swiss Made, terroir miraculé de l’horlogerie mondiale. On y entre par la porte de la micro-mécanique, du design, du marqueur statutaire, du placement, de l’Histoire des migrations et des religions, des facteurs géographiques, climatiques, industriels, sportifs, aventuriers, des peoples, des sportifs d’élite, de la culture… Un terreau où les histoires humaines, parfois encombrées par certains égos, restent attachantes, ponctuées d’errances autant que de résilience.

Joël A. Grandjean

Editeur, Rédacteur en Chef Journaliste RP

Vincent Daveau

Rédacteur en chef adjoint, Horloger, Historien,

Ollivier Broto

Vice-Président de ProWatCH Association

Histoire

Dès 2000

Le passeport pour la connaissance horlogère
Le Swiss Watch Passport inspire la création de l’Association ProWatCH (Savoirs & Culture Horlogers Suisse)

Au commencement, un groupe informel d’amis actifs dans l’horlogerie. Rencontres régulières, échanges: tout y passe, les commérages, les révélations, les rumeurs, les soifs d’en savoir toujours plus, souvent les scoops aussi.

Soudain, l’éclatement géographique, le groupe se dissout, on se promet de remplacer les RV physiques par des écrits échangés sur un espace commun, c’est le tout début des blogs, premiers posts en 2003.

En ce temps-là, les moteurs de recherche (Alta Vista, Yahoo, MSN puis Google dès 1998) balbutiaient. Le hic, c’est qu’ils commencent à faire « remonter » à la surface des news destinées naïvement à rester anonymes. S’apercevoir que la maîtresse d’un CEO horloger en vue pourrait soudain être médiatisée, incite les participants à désigner d’urgence le journaliste de la bande pour tout lisser et tout remettre en forme. Joël A. Grandjean (voir son profil) s’attèle à la tâche puis continue seul l’aventure du premier bloghorloger de Suisse.

Dès 2005
Le bloghorloger.ch devient un média libre, dépourvu de publicité. Juste la voix de référence et d’indépendance d’un secteur. Celle qui tantôt titille tantôt exhorte, toujours dans le respect et la passion. Suivi par l’ensemble des journalistes spécialisés, il devient une puissante force d’influence comme en témoigne quelques mémorable tests de traçabilité menés à l’interne.

Ce média est l’un des buts premiers de « ProWatCH, Savoirs et Culture Horlogers suisses« , une association à but non lucratif qui dès 2006 soutient l’agence de presse indépendante internationale, TàG Press +41 (20 médias dont 10 horlogers). Grâce à la mise en réseau de journalistes reconnus et d’experts, son fondateur le journaliste RP Joël A. Grandjean accepte plusieurs mandats de rédaction en chef: les magazines Heure Suisse, Heure Schweiz, Année Horlogère Suisse, Watchonista.com).

2013 et 2015
Deux fois, en 2013 et 2015, à la veille de l’ouverture d’un grand salon horloger à Genève, le site est hacké. Dès 2015, il reste volontairement en berne pour ne pas entrer en  concurrence avec les clients de TàG Press +41.

2019
Joël A. Grandjean crée JSH Archives & Patrimoine, une association dédiée à faire revivre le Journal Suisse d’Horlogerie fondé en 1876. Première mondiale, ce magazine imprimé destiné aux personnels de l’horlogerie devient l’unique média à refuser la publicité des marques de montres! Une posture saluée avec enthousiasme dans la galaxie de fournisseurs et des cotraitants, destinée à marquer concrètement son indépendance.

2021
Dans l’esprit JSH, c’est à dire en conformité avec l’histoire d’un média qui depuis 1876 se confond avec l’histoire de l’horlogerie suisse, le Swiss Watch Passport se veut aussi initiatique et sans langue de bois. Ethique et indépendant, il entend en français et en anglais toujours porter la voix de l’univers des sous-traitants et des indépendants tout en s’ouvrant, sous le signe de la créativité, aux « partenariats » avec des marques horlogères de plus en plus avide de conquérir  les collectionneurs et aficionados.

Déjà en 2006, dans les statuts fondateurs de « ProWatCH, Savoirs & Culture Horlogers Suisses« , aux côtés du bloghorloger.ch, le Swiss Watch Passport apparaît sous ses initiales SWP. L’association à but non lucratif continue donc de supporter ce media qui bénéficie également du soutien de l’association JSH Archives & Patrimoine.

Editorial Team

Portrait officiel de Joël A. Grandjean

Joël A. Grandjean

Editeur & Rédacteur en chef

Joël A. Grandjean

Editeur, Rédacteur en Chef Journaliste RP

Vincent Daveau, Journaliste, Horloger, Historien

Vincent Daveau

Co-Rédacteur en Chef

Vincent Daveau

Co-Rédacteur en Chef

Ollivier Broto

ProWatCH Co-Founder, Expert

Ollivier Broto

ProWatCH Co-Founder, Expert

Shaniah A. Gibson

Translations Supervisor

Shaniah A. Gibson

Translations Supervisor

Albert-J. de Buttes-LaCôte

Reporter, TàG Press +41

Albert-J. de Buttes-LaCôte

Reporter, TàG Press +41

JSH Magazine (1876)

News Label

JSH Magazine (1876)

News Label

Next Expert

Senior News Editor

On process

Bureau Chief, UK

Bureau

Geneva

Et-Dumont 5 | Po Box 3238
CH-1211 Geneva3
+41 76 328 0379
jsh@swiss-watch-passport.ch

Zurich

+41 44 586 7927
Switzerland
boost@swiss-watch-passport.ch

Caribbean West Ind.

Soufrière, St-Lucia
Caribbean West Ind.
WhatsApp +1 (758) 286-4599

GB / USA

United Kingdom
+44 (772) 343-1627
USA Hollywood/FL
+1 (954) 889-5522

Advertise

Devenir membre de soutien de l’association JSH Archives & Patrimoine ou de l’association ProWatCH
https://PayPal.me/jsh1876

Partnerships & Boostings
5, rue Etienne Dumont
P.O. Box 3238
CH-1211 Geneva 3, Switzerland

boost@swiss-watch-passport.ch
+41 44 586 7927

Menu