10:101stEVENTS & PEOPLEGaïa AwardsWHO’S

Gaïa 2023 Awards Ceremony: Winners revealed

Temps de lecture : < 1 minute

Georges Brodbeck, Hans Boeckh and Miguel Garcia are the 2023 winners in the “Craftsmanship – Creation“, “History – Research” and “Entrepreneurship” categories respectively.

Member of the Gaïa Prize Jury Joël A. Grandjean
JSH® Magazine & Swiss Watch Passport’s Editor in Chief

Insta SWP | Insta JSH® | Facebook | Twitter | Linkedin

The master Guillocheur Georges Brodbeck

The Watchmaking Nobel, as I renamed it a few years ago, is still the industry’s highest honor. The 2023 Gaïa Prize jury has delivered its verdict.

Three new laureates complete the impressive list of award recipients. Since 1993, this distinction has rewarded extraordinary careers accomplished in the field of watchmaking, art and culture.

The public ceremony took place on Thursday, September 21, 2023 at 6pm at the Musée international d’horlogerie in La Chaux-de-Fonds. On this occasion, the MIH also awarded its Horizon Gaïa grant, to promote the next generation of watchmakers in the Prix’s fields of expertise. His Master’s thesis, entitled “Mouvement perpétuel et flèche du temps: héritage de la thermodynamique” (Perpetual movement and the arrow of time: the heritage of thermodynamics”) aims to develop public communication tools designed to highlight the importance of thermodynamics in the field of watchmaking and timekeeping.

Mr. Miguel Garcia, Director of Sellita. ©La Photo David Marchon, Chaux-de-Fonds, 17.08.2023

Recents posts

Book “Le Cadran”, by Dr. Helmut Crott

The work of a lifetime, the book "Le Cadran" by Dr. Helmut Crott (edited by Joël A. Grandjean), the history of the dial in the 20th century, the prestigious history of the Stern dials and of a family that took over the Patek Philippe brand



JSH® Partnership